Cumberland University Logo

John E. Mayfield Scholarship

Deadline: April 1


  • Class: Freshman
  • GPA: 2.5
  • Major: Any
  • Location: Cheatham County
  • Additional Requirements:

Established in 2016 by John E. Mayfield, this scholarship was created to encourage and assist students from Cheatham County, Tennessee to attend Cumberland University. The scholarship recipient will be a high school graduate of Cheatham County with a minimum 2.5 GPA. Financial need will be considered in selecting scholarship recipients. Once a student is selected as a recipient of a Mayfield Scholarship, the award will automatically renew each year as long as the student remains in good standing with the University and maintains a minimum 2.5 GPA. This award can be made for no more than two semesters to any one student. Recipients must complete a scholarship application and essay and submit by the appropriate due date.