The Road to Becoming a Real Estate Agent
Under the guidelines set forth by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC), anyone interested in becoming a licensed realtor must complete a 60-hour real estate fundamentals program. The 60-hour course “Tennessee Real Estate Principles” fulfills this pre-licensure requirement and is offered online through our Real Estate Institute. This course enables you to gain insights into the real estate profession and prepares you to pass the required 2-part PSI exam covering state and national real estate laws and practices. Cost: $375
After successfully passing both parts of the PSI exam, you must complete the 30-hour “Course for New Affiliates,” offered as a take-home “workbook course” by the Institute. This course gives you hands-on practice doing the things real estate agents do every day. After successfully completing the “Course for New Affiliates”, you will be ready to be licensed as an official real estate agent by the State of Tennessee. Cost: $185
To keep your license current and maintain your status as an affiliate broker, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education every two years from the date your original license was issued. Effective January 1, 2011, six of the 16 hours must be from the “core” class as mandated by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. The Institute currently offers these 4-hour workbook courses and 6-hour online courses to help you meet your continuing education requirements:
|Four-hour Workbook Courses: $40 each||Six-hour Online Courses: $60 each|
|Fair Housing||Risk Management|
|Red Flags - Property Inspections||Diversity and Doing Business|
|Real Estate Finance|
Affiliate brokers with the experience required by TREC may choose to continue their education to earn their broker’s license. To be eligible to sit for the broker’s examination, you must have
- maintained an active license for 24 months if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before May 12, 1988,
- or maintained an active license for 36 months if you received your affiliate broker’s license after May 12, 1988,
- or maintained an active license for 24 months and have a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate,
- and completed 120 hours of TREC-approved real estate education that includes 30 hours of office/broker management instruction.
The Real Estate Institute offers the 30-hour home study course “Office and Broker Management” to help prepare qualified affiliate brokers for the broker’s exam. Workbooks are available in Room 103 in Labry Hall. Cost: $350
-The Tennessee Real Estate Commission sets forth all rules and regulations regarding licensure of an affiliate broker or broker. Please review the complete TREC requirements for obtaining a license.
-Order online courses from REcampus. To order workbooks or for more information, contact Cumberland University’s Real Estate Institute at (615) 547-1259.