Cumberland University


Phoenix Ball volunteers hard at work with final prep


The Cumberland University Phoenix Ball committee volunteers, led by chairpersons Chris and Lauren Smith, are hard at work finalizing the details and recruiting sponsors for the 35th annual black tie event which takes place on June 2 in the Dallas Floyd Recreation Center. “Havana Nights” is the theme for the evening of dining, dancing, bidding on auction items. Music will be provided by the 12 South Band.

“The Phoenix Ball is one of the most fun, exciting nights in Wilson County. Many hours of work are put into this event by our great volunteers who care so much about making this a successful event for Cumberland. They also care a great deal about making sure the guests have such a good time that they will come back year after year,” Lauren Smith said. According to Smith, the Phoenix Ball is well on its way to being sold out. With a limited number of seats left even before the invitations are received, she is confident that the remaining seats will sell quickly.

Sponsors to date are:

Phoenix Sponsors

ESa.; Remax Exceptional Properties; Tennova Healthcare; Wilson Bank and Trust; Chris and Lauren Smith

Auction Sponsors

Fleming Homes; Compass Auctions & Real Estate;

Palm Sponsor

Eric and Deanna Purcell;

Photo Booth Sponsor

Beauty Boutique;

Safe Ride Home Sponsor

Wilson County Chevrolet, Buick and GMC;

Rumba Sponsor


Late Night Sponsor


Valet Parking Sponsor

State Farm - Charlie Brooks;

35th Anniversary Sponsor

Parks Auction and Realty;

Rum Bar Lounge Sponsor

Jodi and Chad Pennington;

Patrons of the Phoenix

ALT Property Services; Chartwells, City of Lebanon; Cristy and Paul Stumb; First Tennessee; Home Instead Senior Care; Music City Logistics Express; Sodexo; Southern Bank of Tennessee; THW Insurance Services LLC; CedarStone Bank; Stewart Knowles Construction Inc.; L4: fostering environments; and Casey Monette Capital Real Estate


Phoenix Ball 2018 Committee Members [photo included]:Chris Smith (2018 Chair), Lauren Smith (2018 Chair), Necole Bell, Rick Bell, Beth Bouton, Jeni Brinkman, Kurt Brinkman, Melissa Ferguson, Joe Gardner, Shelley Gardner, Kirsten Harris, Scott Harris, Ray Hubner, Stephanie Hubner, Brad Irby, Tasha Irby, Susan Kirshner, Jimmy Lea, Maggie Lea, Brandi Lovin, Eddie Lovin, Jocelyn Miller, Mike Miller, Katy Moscardelli, Michael Moscardelli, Deana Purcell, Eric Purcell, Rusty Richardson, Lea Rowe, Michael Rowe, Jennifer Smith, Lindsey Smith, and Shawn Smith