Cumberland University


CU Becomes Provisional Member of GMAC

Cumberland University

Cumberland University was granted provisional membership into the Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) this week after a vote of league presidents, paving the way for the University to apply to the NCAA for admittance into Division II in February 2014.

The Cumberland University Board of Trust agreed with a recommendation from President Harvill Eaton at the end of July to pursue membership in the G-MAC and apply to the NCAA. Cumberland University submitted a Letter of Interest and Application this week with the league presidents, who granted provisional status to the University and its athletic teams. The G-MAC will sponsor the institution as it seeks membership into the NCAA.

“Becoming a member of the Great Midwest Athletic Conference is a major milestone for an athletic program that continues to grow its reputation for winning and outstanding student-athletes,” said Dr. Eaton. “Our athletic program is driven by a competitive spirit that I believe will complement our new conference.”

The Great Midwest Athletic Conference was approved as an active NCAA Division II conference by the Membership Committee this summer. The G-MAC conducted 12 conference championships in 2012-13 in its inaugural year as an NCAA Division II Member Conference and will host 17 championships in 2013-14.

“The G-MAC is proud to sponsor Cumberland University for NCAA Division II membership and pleased to welcome the institution as a provisional member of our conference,” said Commissioner Tom Daeger. “President Eaton and Director of Athletics Ron Pavan have developed the athletics program into the ‘Front Porch’ of the institution and their strong leadership has been evident as we have learned more about the institution over the last several months.

“The Presidents’ Council unanimously endorsed sponsoring Cumberland for NCAA Division II membership and look forward to welcoming Dr. Eaton to the Council as a provisional member.”

The league currently has eight active NCAA Division II members, including Alderson Broaddus University (Philippi, W.Va.), Cedarville University (Cedarville, Ohio), Central State University (Wilberforce, Ohio), Davis & Elkins College (Elkins, W.Va.), Kentucky Wesleyan College (Owensboro, Ky.), Ohio Valley University (Vienna, W.Va.), Salem International University (Salem, W.Va.), and Ursuline College (Pepper Pike, Ohio).

Trevecca Nazarene University (Nashville, Tenn.) has moved into the third (Provisional) and final year of the NCAA DII Membership Process, while Georgetown College (Georgetown, Ky.) is also a provisional member and will also apply for NCAA DII membership.

“This is the first step in what we hope is a successful move into NCAA Division II,” said Director of Athletics Ron Pavan. “Dr. Eaton and the Board of Trust have been major supporters of the athletic department and its student-athletes and this is even further evidence that the University continues to move forward to enhance the experience and competitiveness of all of the athletic teams.”