Cumberland University


Alexander named TSWA College Coach of the Year


LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland University football coach Dewayne Alexander was named the College Football Coach of the Year by the Tennessee Sportswriters Association (TSWA) this week after helping the Bulldogs to an 8-3 record in 2010.

Alexander led Cumberland to just the second eight-win campaign since the program was revived in 1990. The Bulldogs played in a de facto conference championship game the final week of the year, losing at the Univ. of the Cumberlands to miss the NAIA Playoffs. He was named the NAIA Region I Coach of the Year and honored at the American Football Coaches Association National Convention in Dallas in January.

In five years at CU, he has produced 30 All-Mid-South Conference honorees and 57 MSC Scholar-Athletes. Fourteen players have been named NAIA National Scholar-Athletes, including seven in 2010, while 12 players have garnered Conference Player of the Week accolades and four NAIA National Players of the Week. Cumberland tied for the Mid-South Conference West Division championship in 2008.

Cumberland posted the best record of any of the state’s 18 football playing institutions, which includes Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Middle Tennessee and Memphis in the Football Bowl Subdivision; Chattanooga, Tennessee Tech, Austin Peay, UT Martin and Tennessee State in the Football Championship Subdivision; Carson-Newman, Tusculum University and Lane College in Division II; Rhodes College, Maryville College and the University of the South in Division III; and Cumberland, Bethel University and Lambuth University in NAIA. Other coaches who received Coach of the Year votes include Tennessee’s Derek Dooley, Middle Tennessee’s Rick Stockstill and Chattanooga’s Russ Huesman.

Tusculum University quarterback Bo Cordell was named the College Football Player of the Year by the TSWA. The 6-foot-1, 195-pound sophomore led the nation (all NCAA divisions) in passing with 4,657 yards, earning South Atlantic Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors. The Cincinnati, Ohio, native finished fourth in the voting for the Harlon Hill Trophy, the Division II equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

In 11 games, he completed 394-of-605 attempts for 38 touchdowns and only 12 interceptions. The 38-touchdown total was a school and conference record. Cordell had nine straight games of throwing for 400 or more yards, and his 423.6 passing yards per game was the best in all divisions. Other players to receive votes included Middle Tennessee’s Jamari Lattimore, Tennessee’s Tyler Bray, Tauren Poole and Nick Reveiz, Austin Peay’s Terrence Holt and Chattanooga’s B.J. Coleman.