Cumberland University


Alexander named the Coach of the Year



Cumberland University’s Dewayne Alexander was named the NAIA Region I Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association this week. Alexander will be recognized during the upcoming AFCA Convention set for January 9-12 in Dallas, Texas.

Alexander led Cumberland to an 8-3 record this season, just the second eight-win campaign since the program was revived in 1990. The Bulldogs played in a de facto conference championship game the final week of the year, losing at the Univ. of the Cumberlands to miss the playoffs.

In five years at CU, he has produced 30 All-Mid-South Conference honorees and 57 MSC Scholar-Athletes. Seven players have been named NAIA National Scholar-Athletes with at least seven more expected in 2010, while 12 have garnered Conference Player of the Week accolades and four NAIA National Players of the Week. Cumberland tied for the Mid-South Conference West Division championship in 2008.

The AFCA will announce its five 2010 National Coach of the Year winners at the national convention in Dallas. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well.

2010 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners
Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Doug Marrone, Syracuse
Region 2: Gene Chizik, Auburn
Region 3: Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Region 4: Art Briles, Baylor
Region 5: Chip Kelly, Oregon & Jim Harbaugh, Stanford (tie)

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary
Region 2: Brian Jenkins, Bethune-Cookman
Region 3: Tony Samuel, Southeast Missouri State
Region 4: Trent Miles, Indiana State
Region 5: J.C. Harper, Stephen F. Austin

Division II
Region 1: Raymond Monica, Kutztown Univ.
Region 2: David Dean, Valdosta State
Region 3: Paul Winters, Wayne State
Region 4: Bo Atterberry, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Region 5: Mike Aldrich, Augustana College

Division III
Region 1: Clayton Kendrick-Holmes, SUNY Maritime College
Region 2: Jim Clements, Delaware Valley College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, Univ. of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Mike Leonard, Franklin College & Larry Kehres, Mount Union (tie)
Region 5: Glenn Caruso, Univ. of St. Thomas

Region 1: Dewayne Alexander, Cumberland Univ.
Region 2: Todd Hafner, William Penn Univ.
Region 3: Joe Bettasso, McPherson College & Jonathan Quinn, MidAmerica Nazarene (tie)
Region 4: Casey Thiele, Midland Univ.
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College